The U.S. Senate and House of
Represenatives are still considering
economic stimulus legislation, which

may affect the 2002 standard deduction
amounts. Once the department receives
final confirmation that a stimulus pack-
age will not affect the 2002 standard
deduction amounts, this notice will be
removed from the web site.

The Missouri Department of Revenue
apologizes for any inconvenience
regarding this matter.



: - MISSOURI DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE MO W'4 This certificate is for income tax withholding
& 2 DIVISION OF TAXATION AND COLLECTION and child support enforcement purposes only.
4 EMPLOYEE’S WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCE CERTIFICATE (REV.11-2001) | PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT.
FULL NAME SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER FILING ] SINGLE

STATUS [ MARRIED
I N N N N N ] HEAD OF HOUSEHOLD

HOME ADDRESS (NUMBER AND STREET OR RURAL ROUTE) CITY OR TOWN, STATE AND ZIP CODE

1. ALLOWANCE FOR YOURSELF: Enter 1 for yourself if your filing status is single OR married.
Enter 4 for yourself if your filing status is Head of Household. . . . .. ... ... 1

2. ALLOWANCE FOR YOUR SPOUSE: Does your spouse work? [ ] Yes [ No
If YES, enter 0. 1f NO, €nter 1 for YOUr SPOUSE . . ...ttt t ittt e ettt et e et e e e e e e 2

3. ALLOWANCE FOR DEPENDENTS: Enter the number of dependents you will claim on your tax return. Do not claim
yourself or your spouse or dependents that your spouse has already claimed on his or her FormMOW-4. .................... 3

4. TOTAL NUMBER OF ALLOWANCES YOU ARE CLAIMING: Add Lines 1 through 3 and enter totalhere. ................... 4

5. ADDITIONAL WITHHOLDING: If you expect to have a balance due (as a result of interest income, dividends, income from a
part-time job, etc.) on your tax return, you may request your employer to withhold an additional amount of tax from each
pay period. To calculate the amount needed, divide the amount of the expected balance due by the number of pay periods
in a year. Enter the additional amount to be withheld each pay period here. ......... .. . 5 |$

6. EXEMPT STATUS: If you had a right to a refund of ALL of your Missouri income tax withheld last year because you had NO
tax liability and this year you expect a refund of ALL Missouri income tax withheld because you expect to have NO tax liability,

WHEE EXEMP T ON LI B. . . .\ttt ittt ittt ettt ettt et ettt e e e ettt e et 6
Under the penalties of perjury, | certify that to the best of my knowledge and belief, the amount of allowances claimed on this certificate does not exceed the number to which | am entitled.
EMPLOYEE’S SIGNATURE DATE
EMPLOYER'S NAME FEDERAL EMPLOYER IDENTIFICATION NUMBER
EMPLOYER'S ADDRESS MISSOURI TAX IDENTIFICATION NUMBER

NOTICE TO EMPLOYER: Within 20 days of hiring a new employee, send the Form MO W-4 to the:
Missouri Department of Revenue, P.O. Box 3340, Jefferson City, MO 65105-3340.

You Do Not Pay Missouri INcoME TAX ON ALL OF THE INCOME You EARN!

Deductions and exemptions reduce the amount of your taxable income. Form MO W-4 is completed so you can have as much “take-home pay” as pos-
sible without an income tax liability due to the state of Missouri when you file your taxes. You are not taxed on at least $6,800 if your filing status is sin-
gle; $12,050 if your filing status is married filing combined; or $10,400 if your filing status is head of household. The following amounts of your annual
adjusted gross income will not be taxed by the state of Missouri when you file your individual income tax return.

Single Married Filing Combined Head of Household
$2,100 — personal exemption $ 4,200 — personal exemption $ 3,500 — personal exemption
$4,700 — standard deduction $ 7.850 — standard deduction $ 6.900 — standard deduction
$6,800 — Total $12,050 — Combined Total (For both spouses) $10,400 — Total
+ $1,200 for each dependent + $1,200 for each dependent + $1,200 for each dependent
+ up to $5,000 for federal tax + up to $10,000 for federal tax + up to $5,000 for federal tax

Items to Remember:
o If your filing status is married filing combined and your spouse works, do not claim an exemption on Form MO W-4 for your spouse.
* If you and your spouse have dependents, please be sure only one of you claims the dependents on your Form MO W-4. If both spouses claim the
dependents as an allowance on Form MO W-4, it may cause you to owe additional Missouri income tax when you file your return.
* If you have more than one employer, you should claim a smaller number or no allowances on each Form MO W-4 filed with employers other than
your principal employer so the amount withheld will be closer to your amount of total tax.

MO 860-2996 (11-2001)



2002 MISSOURI WITHHOLDING TAX FORMULA

Notice: At the time of printing, the U.S. Senate and House of
Representatives were still considering economic stimulus legislation,
which may affect the 2002 standard deduction amounts.
Please verify the amounts by visiting our web site and viewing
the online version of the withholding tax formula at:
www.dor.state.mo.us/tax/business/withhold/forms/2002/ .
The Missouri Department of Revenue apologizes for any
inconvenience regarding this matter.

STEP 1—USING ANNUAL AMOUNTS

1. GROSS INCOME — Determine the employee’s total wages
for the payroll period. Multiply this amount by the number
of payroll periods you have in a year. The result is the
employee’s annual wage. (Multiply by: 260 if you pay
daily; 52 if you pay weekly; 26 if you pay bi-weekly; 24 if
you pay semi-monthly; 12 if you pay monthly.)

Note: If the employee has supplemental or overtime pay,
see the withholding procedures outlined in the next col-
umn.

2. STANDARD DEDUCTION — Annual amount is: $4,700 if
employee is single; $3,925 if employee is married and
spouse works; $7,850 if employee is married and spouse
does not work (this is determined by the check box on
Form MO W-4, Line 2 and is not a separate filing status);
$6,900 if employee’s filing status is Head of Household.

3. MO W-4 ALLOWANCES — Annual amount is: $1,200 for
the first allowance and $1,200 for each additional
allowance if employee is single or married; $3,500 for the
first allowance and $1,200 for the fifth allowance and each
additional allowance thereafter if the employee’s filing sta-
tus is Head of Household. (Do not figure a deduction for
the second, third or fourth allowances if the filing status is
Head of Household. These allowances are to be used only
in conjunction with the withholding tax tables and not with
the withholding tax formula.)

4. FEDERAL WITHHOLDING — Determine the amount of the
employee’s total federal income tax withheld for the payroll
period. Multiply this amount by the number of payroll peri-
ods you have in a year. The result is the employee’s annual
federal income tax withheld. An individual’s federal income
tax deduction is limited to $5,000 ($10,000 if a combined
return). These limitations should be applied on an aggregate
basis. (Multiply by: 260 if you pay daily; 52 if you pay
weekly; 26 if you pay bi-weekly; 24 if you pay semi-monthly;
or 12 if you pay monthly.)

Note: The maximum federal income tax deduction for a
married filer, spouse not working, is $10,000. If the spouse
is working, the maximum limit should be calculated using
$5,000.

Determine if the spouse is working by the check boxes on
Form MO W-4, Line 2.

5. MISSOURI TAXABLE INCOME — Subtract the total annual
amounts of numbers 2, 3, and 4 from the total annual gross
income of number 1. The result is the employee’s Missouri
taxable income.

STEP 2

1. MISSOURI WITHHOLDING TAX — Multiply the employ-
ee’s Missouri taxable income by the applicable annual pay-
roll period rate. Begin at the lowest rate and accumulate
the total withholding amount for each rate. The result is the
employee’s annual Missouri withholding tax.

2. MISSOURI WITHHOLDING TAX PER PAYROLL PERIOD
— Divide the employee’s annual Missouri withholding
amount by: 260 if you pay daily; 52 if you pay weekly; 26
if you pay bi-weekly; 24 if you pay semi-monthly; 12 if you
pay monthly. The result is the employee’s Missouri with-
holding tax per pay period.

Supplemental Pay Withholding

If the employee has supplemental or overtime pay, and the
payment is included with normal wages, apply the withhold-
ing formula to the total payment as if it was a regular payroll
wage payment.

If the employee has supplemental or overtime pay and the
overtime wages are paid separately from regular wages, you
may withhold based upon one of the following two methods.

e Withhold a flat percentage rate of 6 percent of the supple-
mental wages; or

e Add the supplemental wages to the regular wages paid for
the payroll period and apply the withholding formula to the
total amount as if it was a regular payroll wage payment.
Then, subtract the tax already withheld from the regular
wage payment and withhold the remaining tax from the
supplemental payment.

ROUNDING ON MISSOURI WITHHOLDING REPORTS. You
must round the amounts that you withhold from your employ-
ees to the nearest whole dollar.

INCOME TAX WITHHOLDING PERCENTAGE TAX

Daily Weekly Bi-Weekly Semi-Monthly Monthly Annual

Rates Payroll Period Payroll Period Payroll Period Payroll Period Payroll Period Payroll Period
1.5% $ 000to$ 400 $ 0.00to$ 20.00 $ 0.00to$ 38.50 $ 000to$ 4200 $ 0.00t0o$ 84.00 $ 0.00to $ 1,000.00
2.0% 401to  8.00 2001to  40.00 3851t0  77.00 42.01t0  84.00 84.01to  168.00 1,000.01to  2,000.00
2.5% 8.01to  12.00 40.01to  60.00 77.01t0  115.50 84.01to 126.00 168.01to  252.00 2,000.01to  3,000.00
3.0% 12.01to  16.00 60.01to  80.00 115.51to  154.00 126.01to  168.00 252.01to  336.00 3,000.01 to  4,000.00
3.5% 16.01to  20.00 80.01to  100.00 154.01to  192.50 168.01to 210.00 336.01to  420.00 4,000.01to  5,000.00
4.0% 20.01to  24.00 100.01 to  120.00 192.51to  231.00 210.01 to  252.00 420.01to  504.00 5,000.01to  6,000.00
4.5% 24.01to  28.00 120.01to  140.00 231.01to  269.50 252.01to 294.00 504.01to 588.00 6,000.01to  7,000.00
5.0% 28.01to  32.00 140.01to  160.00 269.51to  308.00 294.01to 336.00 588.01to 672.00 7,000.01 to  8,000.00
5.5% 32.01to  36.00 160.01to  180.00 308.01to  346.50 336.01to 378.00 672.01to  756.00 8,000.01 to  9,000.00
6.0% 36.01 and over 180.01 and over 346.51 and over 378.01 and over 756.01 and over 9,000.01 and over

Note: By agreement between the employee and the employer, the employee may designate additional withholding per pay period if he/she expects to
owe more than the amount withheld. Additional amount of withholding may be claimed on Line 5, of Form MO W-4 (Employer’s Withholding
Allowance Certificate).




